## JASPER COUNTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY

## ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

## October 24, 2022

The annual meeting of the Jasper County Agricultural Society was called to order by President Jerry Elscott on Monday, October 24, 2022 at 7:18 pm at the Jasper County Fairgrounds in Colfax, Iowa. 76 voting Agricultural Society members signed in.

Jake Clymer read the 2021 Secretary Minutes presented by secretary, Jake Clymer – Motion to approve by Denny North and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Brian Cupples. Motion carried.

Kendra Halferty discussed that Jasper County fair was blessed with 25 k from ARPA money. 2022 financial report presented by treasurer Kendra Halferty was made by Roger Beyer and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Rhonda Guy. Motion carried.

Doug Woebbeking made nomination recommendations from the Nominating Committee. He noted that all current members except for 2 have agreed to serve another three-year term. Doyle Verploeg and Chris Merten (1 year term) decided to step down from the board. The nominating committee provided the following candidates to fill 9 open Fairboard spots.

- Incumbents
  - Alan Guy
  - Chelsey Van Genderen
  - Kendra Halferty
  - o Ed Machin
  - Wayne Saak
  - o Danny Engle
  - Roger Zaabel
- Open
  - Jerod DeVries
  - o Kristen Titus
  - o Logan Zaabel
  - Heather Cupples
  - Shaun Vender Weerdt
  - o Jeremy Beukema

Fair Queen Lauren Zaable and Princess Morgan Hansen provided a synopsis of their rein as Queen and Princess at the 2022 Jasper County Fair. They provided President Jerry Elscott assistance during the door prize drawing.

Jerry Elscott asked for any nominations from the floor. Roger Beyer made a motion that nominations cease, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Karna VerPloeg. Ballots were counted by nominating committee members, Doug Wobeking, Denny North, Josh Fosenberg. The elected members were announced as follows:

- Kellogg Logan Zaable
- Independence Chelsey Van Genderen
- At Large Kendra Halferty
- Palo Alto- Ed Machin
- Malaka- Wayne Saak
- Fairview East Danny Engel

- Mound Prairie Roger Zaable
- Richland Jerod Devries
- Rock Creek (1 year term) Alan Guy

Jerry Elscott noted that fairground improvements included:

- Installed AC in the Feed Shed and the Fair Office
- Installed AC units in the Shower Houses
- Installed now underground speaker wire at the horse arena.
- Replaced 5 water hydrants that were leading.
- Fixed water lines that were leaking
- Installed new double doors at the south side of Show Pavilion
- New Goat pens (provided by fundraising by Sherman Sunbeams 4H Club)
- Update to the Youth Building's flooring

Other business - None

Jerry Elscott once again thanked everyone for coming and for all their help throughout the year.

Motion to adjourn the Annual Meeting was made by Reed Hiemstra & 2<sup>nd</sup> Brian Cupples. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 8:07 pm.

Submitted by, Jake Clymer Secretary, Jasper County Fair Board